Following are the process of profile and OneDrive cleanup in SharePoint Online:
- A work or school account is deleted from the Microsoft Office 365 admin center or is removed through Active Directory synchronization.
- The account deletion is synchronized to SharePoint Online.
- The My Site Clean Up timer job runs, and the user profile is marked for deletion. The profile will be preserved in the database in a deleted state for 30 days. This coincides with the time that’s allocated to restore a deleted user account from the Azure Active Directory recycle bin.
- If the Manager Field is populated for the deleted account, the manager will receive an email message that states that the site will be removed in 30 days and that access to the site is granted to the manager.
- If the Manager field isn’t populated for the user account and a secondary owner was configured in Setup My Sites under the User Profile section of the SharePoint admin center, the secondary owner contact will receive an email message that states that the site will be removed in 30 days and that access to the site is granted to the user.
- After 27 days, a second email message will be sent to the manager or secondary owner that states that the site will be deleted in three days.
- After three days, the profile for the deleted account is deleted from the user profile service.
The personal site (that is, the OneDrive for Business site) for the deleted account is sent to the site collection recycle bin. The site is deleted from the recycle bin according to the site collection recycle bin retention policy, which is 30 days.